Museum of the Year: £200,000 prize split five ways amid ‘financial peril’

Five museums and galleries have shared the coveted title of Museum of the Year title for 2020 – and the annual award’s increased prize fund of £200,000.

The judges decided to split the honour five ways this year rather than picking one winner as usual.

The winners range from London’s Science Museum to Gairloch Museum, in a former nuclear bunker in north-west Scotland.

The others are Aberdeen Art Gallery, South London Gallery and Towner Art Gallery in Eastbourne, East Sussex.

Jenny Waldman, director of the Art Fund, which runs the prize, said the winners were all “exceptional examples of museums offering inspiration, reflection and joy in the heart of communities”.

Museums “can help rebuild our communities and confidence as we emerge from the virus”, she said, adding: “But they face financial peril.”

In recent years, the Museum of the Year winner has received £100,000, with four other shortlisted institutions getting £10,000 each. This year, the five winners will pocket £40,000 each.

The Art Fund said the shake-up was a response to the “unprecedented challenges that all museums face this year”.

It’s not the only award to be split this year – the Turner Prize was converted to £10,000 bursaries for 10 artists rather than choosing a single winner.

source of the information:

source of the image:


Deja un comentario

Museum of the Year: £200,000 prize split five ways amid ‘financial peril’ – Sarraute Educación María Magdalena

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: